2 IIT-H professors chosen for NASI awards

Source: The Hindu

Read Time: 1 minutes

Two IITH Professors chosen for NASI-Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Awards

Two Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad, (IIT-H) Professors have been chosen for the NASI-Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Awards by the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) for the year 2018.

Dr. Sushmee Badhulika, associate professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, was chosen for his work in ‘electronics, computer science and engineering.’ Dr. Aravind Kumar Rengan, assistant professor, Plasmonic NAnoSpace (P-NAS) Laboratory, Department of Biomedical Engineering, was chosen in the bio-medical, molecular biology and bio-technology category.

Dr. Sushmee Badhulika’s areas of research are in the filed of flexible nano-electronics and electrochemical nano-sensors. Her research focus is to develop low-cost multifunctional nanosensors for healthcare. She also works in the field of eco-friendly electronics, paper electronics and super capacitors for energy storage applications.


Dr. Aravind Kumar Rengan heads the Plasmonic NAnoSpace laboratory (P-NAS Lab ) at IIT Hyderabad and is working in the area of cancer nanotechnology. The award was given in recognition of his work for developing affordable nano medicines towards cancer theranostics (combining diagnostics with therapeutics). He plans to perform translational research involving novel nanomedicines synthesized in IIT Hyderabad laboratories and proceed towards human clinical trials in collaboration with Pharma Industry.

Google Ads

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.